Show/Hide

No Straight Party Voting on November Ballot! Please Click HERE for More Information

        

FAQ's

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
 
1.How do I get a copy of my driving record?
2.How do I get a copy of a report for a motor vehicle accident that occurred in Wixom?
3.If my keys are locked in my vehicle, can the Wixom Police open my vehicle for me?
4.Where is severe weather information available?
5.Who do I call when traffic signals are out and what is the number?
6.How can I get my handgun/rifle safety inspected?
7.Where is the Police Department located and what are their hours?
8.Where do I go to pay the fine for a traffic ticket?
9.Can I park my car on the street overnight?
10.How do I stop vendors from leaving flyers, papers at my mailbox/doorway?
11.What are the business hours of the Detective Bureau of the Police Department?
12.What is Wixom's curfew ordinance?
13.How do I request extra patrol or report suspicious activity?
14.How can I get copies of police reports?
15.How can my group schedule a presenter from the Police Department or schedule a police building tour?
16.I recently moved to Wixom, my handguns were registered at my old residence. Do I have to register them here?
17.How do I report a missing dog?
18.How do I report a traffic accident?
19.Can I store my firearms at the Police Department?
20.How do I contact the police for a non-emergency?
 

1 .How do I get a copy of my driving record?
Driving records are maintained by the Michigan Department of State. To obtain a driving record, a driver can make a written request at any branch office. The locations and hours-of-service for these offices change frequently, and this information can be best obtained at the branch locator webpage of the Michigan Department of State. branch locator webpage

top

2. How do I get a copy of a report for a motor vehicle accident that occurred in Wixom?
Copies of most motor vehicle accident reports are available at the Police Department's front desk at any time; the fee for these reports is $5.00/report. If you cannot come to our offices, you can obtain a copy of your motor vehicle accident report from CLEMIS for a fee of $13.00. Motor vehicle accidents that occur in Wixom, on I-96 and that are policed by the Michigan State Police are available from the Michigan State Police Metro North Post that is located at 14350 Ten Mile Road in Oak Park (Phone - 248.584.5740). You should remember that it can take as long as 72 hours for an accident report to be reviewed and sent to our Records' Department and that a request for a copy of these types of reports may be delayed longer or require a Freedom of Information Act Request if the accident has or will result in a criminal prosecution.CLEMIS

top

3. If my keys are locked in my vehicle, can the Wixom Police open my vehicle for me?
The Police Department will dispatch a police officer who will try to open a vehicle that has its keys locked inside. Persons making these types of requests should remember that significant delays can occur when officers are busy with other matters. No officer will attempt to open any vehicle like this unless the requester has identification and can prove that they or a family member are the owner or leasee of the vehicle. Furthermore, no officer will attempt to open any vehicle like this unless the requester agrees to waive the Police Department and the City of Wixom of any liability from damage that could occur during the opening of the vehicle, and the requester signs a hold-harmless/waiver-of-liability agreement that states such.

top

4. Where is severe weather information available?
The Police Department cannot provide the most current and up-to-the-moment severe weather information; please do not call the Police Department and request this information. The best and most current severe weather information is avalaible from the NOAA Weather Radio. Weather radios are available from many different vendors and more information concerning these radios and the NOAA Weather Radio service can be obtained at the NOAA Weather Radio website. Internet users can point their browsers to internet providers such as The Weather Channel, and severe weather information is always available from local television stations and their websites. NOAA Weather Radio website

top

5 .Who do I call when traffic signals are out and what is the number?
When you see a traffic signal that is out or not working properly, please call the Police Department's front desk at 248.624.6114.

top

6. How can I get my handgun/rifle safety inspected?
No law any longer requires the safety inspection of any handgun, rifle, or shotgun and the Wixom Police Department no longer performs these inspections.

top

7. Where is the Police Department located and what are their hours?
The Police Department is located at 49045 Pontiac Trail (just east of North Wixom Road). It is open to walk-in complaints 24-hours ever day.

top

8 .Where do I go to pay the fine for a traffic ticket?
Where you go pay the fine for a traffic ticket depends upon where and from what Police Department you received the ticket. This information is always contained on the ticket and the information that accompanies the ticket. For traffic tickets issued by Wixom Police Officers, you may pay the fine at the 52-1 District Court. The 52-1 Disrtict Court located at 48150 Grand River (just west of Beck Road) in Novi. 52-1 District Court

top

9. Can I park my car on the street overnight?
You can park your car on the street overnight unless there are signs posted that prohibit such parking or more than two inches of snow has accumulated or is expected to accumulate overnight. As with any street parking, all vehicles should be parked more than 15 feet from any fire hydrant and more than 30 feet from any stop sign or intersection.

top

10. How do I stop vendors from leaving flyers, papers at my mailbox/doorway?
You can post a sign requesting that no handbills or flyers be left in or at your dorway and you should make requests concerning your mailbox to the Postmaster of the Wixom Post Office.

top

11. What are the business hours of the Detective Bureau of the Police Department?
The Police Department's Detective Bureau is staffed Monday - Friday, 7 AM - 5 PM. You can reach the Detective Bureau by calling 248.624.6114 and asking to be transfered to the Detective Bureau or a specific detective.

top

12 What is Wixom's curfew ordinance?
The Wixom Ordinance concerning curfew states:

9.20.040 Curfew - Minors Under Twelve.
It is unlawful for any minor under the age of twelve years to loiter, idle or congregate in or on any public street, highway, alley or park between the hours of ten p.m. and six a.m. unless the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian or some adult delegated by the parent or guardian to accompany the child.
(Ord. 88 § 46, 1972)

9.20.050 Curfew - Minors Under Seventeen.
It is unlawful for any minor under the age of seventeen years to loiter, idle or congregate in or on any public street, highway, sidewalk, overpass, parking area, public place, alley or park between the hours of twelve midnight and six a.m., except where the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian, or some adult over the age of eighteen years delegated by the parent or guardian to accompany the minor child, or where the minor is upon an errand or other legitimate business directed by his parent or guardian. (§ 2 of Ord. dated 8-10-99)

top

13. How do I request extra patrol or report suspicious activity?
If you live or work in Wixom and feel that the police should be aware of any information, situation, or suspicious person(s), activity, or circumstance, then you should call the Police Department and ask to speak with a police officer. You can also call the Police Department and request extra patrol because of a problem. To reach the Police Department, you can phone 248.624.6114.

top

14. How can I get copies of police reports?
Requests for a copy of a police report are accepted in person at the Police Department's front desk 24-hours every day. Requests must be accompanied by a Freedom of Information Act request and a requester will need to verify her/his identity by producing her/his driver's license or state identification card. No copy of any ongoing police investigation is available until the investigation is closed. In order to obtain a copy of a report the requestor’s name must appear in the report or a notarized authorization is necessary. Certain information, governed by state and federal privacy laws, is always removed from the report, prior to copying. This may include, but is not limited to, phone numbers, witness information, suspect information (until a case is completely adjudicated), and medical data. Incident report copy fees are: $5 for pages 1-3, $1.50 per page for pages 4-10, and $1 per page for pages 11 and up. All accident reports are $5 regardless of the number of pages.

top

15. How can my group schedule a presenter from the Police Department or schedule a police building tour?
Groups can request a presentation by police staff or a building tour by calling 248.624.6114 between 9 AM & 5 PM.

top

16 .I recently moved to Wixom, my handguns were registered at my old residence. Do I have to register them here?
Unless you have moved to Wixom from outside of the State of Michigan, you do not need to re-register your pistols or handguns.

top

17. How do I report a missing dog?
If you have a missing or runaway dog, you should contact the Oakland County Animal Shelter at 248.391.4102 and the Wixom Police Department at 248.624.6114. All lost or stray dogs found by the Wixom Police Department are turned over to the Oakland County Animal Shelter unless the dog is licensed or tagged with the owners name and phone number.

top

18. How do I report a traffic accident?
Michigan law requires a report to be filed if the crash occurred on a public roadway and resulted in an injury or combined damage in excess of $1,000. It is often easiest to report a traffic crash at the time it occurs. Officers will respond to the scene when summoned and file such a report. If you are filing a traffic crash report at a later time or date, you will need to contact the other involved driver or drivers and schedule a mutually acceptable time for all to appear at the Police Department. If possible, you should drive the vehicle that was involved in the crash so that the officer taking the report may inspect damage. Reports can be made 24-hours-a-day at the front desk of the police station.

top

19 Can I store my firearms at the Police Department?
The Wixom Police Department does not for any reason accept firearms for storage or safekeeping.

top

20 .How do I contact the police for a non-emergency?
All non-emergency telephone contact with the Wixom Police should be directed to 248.624.6114.

top